Allocations to Committees & Political Balance

- 1.1 Following the Painswick and Upton District Ward By-Election on Wednesday 17 May 2023, Councillor Gary Luff, the Green Party Candidate, was elected. This has resulted in an additional Councillor for the Green Group taking the total to 14.
- 1.2 The seats on each committee must be allocated to each political group as required by the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. On the basis of the existing committee structure, the allocations are as set out below:

Total no. of councillors 51	Conservative (16 Cllrs)	Green (14 Clirs)	Community Independent (4 Clirs)	Independent Left (4 Clirs)	Labour (6 Clirs)	Liberal Democrats (3 Cllrs)	Total seats available
Audit & Standards	3	3	1	1	1	0	9
Community Services & Licensing	4	4	1	1	1	1	12
Developmen t Control	5	4	1	1	1	0	12
Environmen t	4	4	1	1	2	1	13
Housing	4	3	1	1	2	1	12
Strategy & Resources	5	4	1	1	2	1	14

1.3 Each political group was asked to provide its allocations for the committees. The nominations are shown in the tables below.

Nominations for Leader and Deputy Leader (Agenda Item 3)

Leader (Chair of Strategy and Resources Committee)	Deputy Leader (Vice- Chair of Strategy and Resources Committee)
Catherine Braun	Natalie Bennett

Nominations for committee membership (Agenda Item 8)

	(a) Audit and Standards Committee (9 seats)							
Conservative (2 seats)	Green (3 seats)	Community Independents (1 seat)	Independent Left (1 seat)	Labour (1 seat)	Liberal Democrats (0 seats)	No Group (1 seat)		
Stephen Davies	Christopher Jockel	Doina Cornell	Paula Baker	Ashley Smith		Nigel Studdert- Kennedy		
Keith Pearson	Norman Kay							
	Martin Pearcy							
	(b)	Community Serv	vices & Licensi	ng Committee (12 s	seats)			
Conservative	Green	Community	Independent	Labour	Liberal	No Group		
(4 seats)	(4 seats)	Independents	Left	(1 seat)	Democrats	(0 seats)		
,	,	(1 seat)	(1 seat)		(1 seat)	,		
Gordon Craig	Beki Aldam	Trevor Hall	Paula Baker	Nigel Prenter	Ken Tucker			
Julie Job	Kate Crews							
John Jones	Jonathan Edmunds							
Gill Oxley	Steve Hynd							

	(c) Development Control Committee (12 seats)							
Conservative	Green	Community	Independent Left	Labour	Liberal	No Group		
(5 seats)	(5 seats)	Independents	(1 seat)	(1 seat)	Democrats	(0 seats)		
		(0 seats)			(0 seats)			
Loraine Patrick	Martin Baxendale		Helen Fenton	Jenny Miles				
Mark Ryder	Martin Brown							
Haydn Jones	Gary Luff							
Victoria Gray	Martin Pearcy							
John Jones	Lucas							
	Schoemaker							
		(d) En	vironment Commi	ttee (13 seats)				
Conservative	Green	Community	Independent Left	Labour	Lib Dem	No Group		
(4 seats)	(5 seats)	Independents	(0 seats)	(2 seats)	(1 seat)	(0 seats)		
,	(-)	(1 seat)	,	,	, ,	,		
Christopher	Martin Brown	Robin Drury-		Ashley Smith	George James			
Evans		Layfield						
Haydn Jones	Norman Kay			Nigel Prenter				
Haydn Sutton	Steve Hynd							
Brian Tipper	Chloe Turner							
	Tricia Watson							
		(e) H	Housing Committe	ee (12 seats)				
Conservative	Green	Community	Independent Left	Labour	Lib Dem	No Group		
(4 seats)	(3 seats)	Independents	(1 seat)	(2 seats)	(1 seat)	(0 seats)		
,	,	(1 seat)	,	,		,		
Stephen Davies	Gary Luff	Colin Fryer	Mattie Ross	Jessie Hoskin	Rich Wilsher			
Katrina Davis	Lucas			Jenny Miles				
	Schoemaker							
Lindsey Green	Christopher							
	Jockel							
Loraine Patrick								

(f) Strategy and Resources Committee (14 seats)

- * Automatic appointment on basis of such councillors also being a Group Leader
- ** These appointments are conditional on such councillors being appointed as the Chair of the Community Services & Licensing, Environment or Housing Committees.

Conservative (5 seats)	Green (3 seats)	Community Independents (1 seats)	Independent Left (2 seats)	Labour (2 seats)	Lib Dem (1 seats)	No Group (0 seats)
Gordon Craig	Beki Aldam**	Robin Drury- Layfield*	Natalie Bennett*	Laurie Davies	Ken Tucker*	
Stephen Davies	Catherine Braun*		Mattie Ross**	Steve Robinson*		
Katrina Davis	Chloe Turner**					
Lindsey Green*						
Keith Pearson						

Nominations for Chair and Vice Chairs of Committees (Agenda Item 9)

(g) Audit and Standards Committee									
Conservative	Green	Com Ind	Ind Left	Labour	Lib Dem	No Group			
	CHAIR								
						Nigel Studder Kennedy			
VICE-CHAIR									
	Martin Pearcy								

		(h) Communi	ty Services & Lice	nsing Committee		
Conservative	Green	Com Ind	Ind Left	Labour	Lib Dem	No Group
			CHAIR			
	Beki Aldam					
			VICE-CHAIR			
		Trevor Hall				
		(i) Dev	relopment Control	Committee		
Conservative	Green	Com Ind	Ind Left	Labour	Lib Dem	No Group
			CHAIR			
	Martin Baxendale					
			VICE CHAIR			
			Helen Fenton			
			(j) Environment C	ommittee		
Conservative	Green	Com Ind	Ind Left	Labour	Lib Dem	No Group
			CHAIR			
	Chloe Turner					
			VICE-CHAIR			
		Robin Drury- Layfield				

(k) Housing Committee									
Conservative	Green	Com Ind	Ind Left	Labour	Lib Dem	No Group			
	CHAIR								
			Mattie Ross						
VICE-CHAIR									
	Lucas Schoemaker								

(I) Strategy and Resources Committee								
Conservative	Green	Com Ind	Ind Left	Labour	Lib Dem	No Group		
	CHAIR							
	Catherine Braun							
VICE CHAIR								
			Natalie Bennett					

Appointments to other bodies (Agenda Item 10)

(i) Health and Care Overview and Scrutiny Committee							
Conservative	Green	Com Ind	Ind Left	Labour	Lib Dem	No Group	
			LEAD				
			Helen Fenton				
			SUBSTITUTE				
			Natalie Bennett				
(ii) Gloucestershir	e Police and Crime Pa	anel					
Conservative	Green	Com Ind	Ind Left	Labour	Lib Dem	No Group	
			LEAD				
	Martin Pearcy						
			SUBSTITUTE				
					Ken Tucker		
(iii) Gloucestershir	e Economic Growth S	Scrutiny Commit	ttee				
Conservative	Green	Com Ind	Ind Left	Labour	Lib Dem	No Group	
LEAD							
	Chloe Turner						
			SUBSTITUTE				
		Robin Drury- Layfield					

Appointments to the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Working Group are not due to be made until May 2024, appointments to the Constitution Working Group will be made by Group Leaders following the Annual Meeting.